8060 165th Avenue N.E.
Suite 100
Redmond, WA 98052
425 558 4224 (Voice)
425 376 0596 (Fax)

Accreditation Overview
Accreditation Process
Standards and Policies
Directory of Institutions
Comprehensive Evaluation Schedule
Complaint Process
Publications, Forms and Updates
Glossary and FAQs
Calendar of Events
Contact Information
Related Links
Site Map
Search NWCCU
Commission Actions

Regional accreditation of postsecondary institutions is a voluntary, non-governmental, self-regulatory process of quality assurance and institutional improvement. It recognizes higher education institutions for performance, integrity, and quality to merit the confidence of the educational community and the public. Accreditation or preaccreditation by a postsecondary regional accrediting agency qualifies institutions and enrolled students for access to federal funds to support teaching, research, and student financial aid.
The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) is an independent, non-profit membership organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the regional authority on educational quality and institutional effectiveness of higher education institutions in the seven-state Northwest region of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. It fulfills its mission by establishing accreditation criteria and evaluation procedures by which institutions are reviewed.
The Commission oversees regional accreditation for 163 institutions. Its decision-making body consists of up to twenty-six Commissioners who represent the public and the diversity of higher education institutions within the Northwest region.


Fall 2014 Reports without visits are due September 2, 2014.


The 2014 Annual Report is now available. Please click here for further information and for links to the electronic report form.



Please Note: Visitors using Internet Explorer 10 may need to view this website
in Compatibility Mode for proper functioning of menus.